Grand Priory of the Mediterranean of the Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem
 
Home
United Grand Priories
Organization
St. Lazarus Foundation
News and Events
Fee Structure
Join the Order
Links
Retail Store
Contact Us
Contact Us
Contact Us

 


The Grand Priories



The structure of the Order's jurisdictions worldwide reflects the composition of the first Commanderies, Preceptories and Priories which dotted the European landscape in medieval times and which were the operating region of the medieval orders, including the Order of Saint Lazarus, in days gone by. Today, the Order of Saint Lazarus does not operate from the Holy Land, or the Outremer as it was fondly called in the times of the Crusade. Naturally the emulation of the medieval, defunct, Lazarite Order is immediately noted in the official name of our chivalric organization, namely the appellation ‘of Jerusalem’ in our full name which immediately brings to mind that the mission statement of our organization today is to serve with humility our Hospitaller and philanthropic calling as did the Lazarite knights of old.

However, the present day Order’s seat of authority today rests within the jurisdiction of Scotland, where the Supreme Grand Prior resides. The international and diplomatic overseeing of the Order resides within the Office of the Grand Chancery in the jurisdiction of Malta.

Below, one finds an alphabetical list of all the jurisdictions and regions within which the Order of Saint Lazarus flourishes today, with a membership of over 14,000 Christians worldwide and with Hospitaller work worth millions being overseen on a yearly basis.

Note a. The smallest unit within the structure of the Order is referred to as a Delegation. It is the custom within our Organisation to ensure that a proper Lazarite team is carefully inducted before the Grand Chancery puts forward the case to the Supreme Grand Priory for the particular jurisdiction to be promoted to a ‘Grand Priory in Formation’. To reach such a status, a jurisdiction needs to be properly organized and deemed fit to tackle the responsibilities of its particular jurisdictions, including an acknowledged presentation of its Hospitaller initiatives in the short and medium term of operations. Some jurisdictions do not automatically reach the stage of ‘Grand Priory in Formation’. Some reach the next stage of ‘Commandery’, or even a ‘Grand Commandery’. Once the Grand Priory in question is properly and solemnly consecrated as per the ancient medieval rites of chivalry, then the appellation ‘in formation’ is removed and the jurisdiction achieves the status of a fully fledged Grand Priory within the Order.

Note b. Some Grand Priories within our organization are referred to as ‘Grand Priories in Distress’. This means that the dedicated Lazarite team in the jurisdiction in question is operating a hands on approach in direct Hospitaller work and that the region in question is too poor to carry the burden of the Order’s annual dues and administrative tithes. In such cases, the Supreme Grand Priory officially decrees the total underwriting of such fees and also authorizes specific, and wealthier, Grand Priories to financially assist in the needs of such ‘Grand Priories in Distress’. Normally, these Grand Priories are found in the African and Southern continents, naturally due to demographic and geographical situations.

Note c. Every Grand Priory is represented, by means of two voting rights, within the Supreme Grand Priory of the Order. Delegations who have not yet reached the status of Grand Priories are represented within the Supreme Grand Priory by means of the two officers’ votes of the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites, which oversees the Delegations of the Order.

Note d. Sister chivalric organizations have opted to join en bloc the United Grand Priories of the Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem. Although their independence and constitutions remain unchanged, the leaders of the sister chivalric organizations undergo what is referred to as a ‘commendation’ wherein, in a sacred investiture in front of their peers, they pledge loyalty and obedience to the officers of the Supreme Grand Priory. These sister chivalric organizations are also represented within the Supreme Grand Priory by means of two voting officers, just like the Grand Priories of the Order. However, the heads of the sister chivalric organizations are also represented within the Grand Council, which is the regular meetings and gatherings of the Grand Officers of the Supreme Grand Priory and through which the day to day administration of our Order is channeled.

Grand Priories which are fully represented in the Supreme Grand Priory as per the statutes of the Order:

The Grand Priory of Argentina
Grand Prior: Confrère Ramiro Anzit Guerrero CLJ

argentina@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Armenia
Grand Prior: To be appointed

armenia@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Australia
Under the Grand Priory of International Lazarites

australia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Austria
Grand Prior: To be announced in 2016

austria@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Belgium
Under the Grand Priory of International Lazarites

belgium@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Bosnia Herzegovina (in formation)

bosnia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Botswana (in formation)

botswana@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Brazil
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Roberto Ortiz KLJ KMLJ

brazil@saintlazarus.org
The Commandery of Sao Paolo
Under the Grand Priory of Brazil
Commander: Confrère Denys Kelwin Herbert de Souza OLJ

Commandery 'Agnus Dei' of Rio de Janiero
Under the Grand Priory of Brazil
Commander: Confrère Adilio Jorge Marques CLJ

The Grand Priory of Canada
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Gordon Ward KLJ

canada@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of China (in formation)

china@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Colombia

Grand Prior: The Chevalier Krishna Panday KLJ

colombia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Cuba

Grand Prior: Dame Gisela Hidalgo DLJ

cuba@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of the Czech Republic

czech@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of the Democratic Republic of the Congo
Grand Prior: The Most Reverend Bishop Ejiba Yamapia ECLJ

drc@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Denmark
Grand Prior: to be appointed

denmark@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of the Dominican Republic

dominicanrepublic@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Ecuador
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Carlos Oswaldo Jaramillo Ponce KLJ

ecuador@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of England
Grand Prior: To be consecrated

england@saintlazarus.org

The Priory of the Isle of Man
Under the Grand Priory of England
Prior: Chevalier John Ogden KLJ

isleofman@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Estonia
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites

estonia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Ethiopia
Grand Prior: His Imperial Highness Prince Ermias Sahle-Selassie Haile-Selassie GCMLJ

ethiopia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Finland

finland@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Commandery of France
Grand Commander: Chevalier Michel Bouillerand KLJ CMLJ

france@saintlazarus.org
The Commandery of Marseilles
Under the Grand Commandery of France
Commander: Confrère Jean Christofe le Gars CLJ OMLJ
The Commandery of Vichy
Under the Grand Commandery of France
Commander: Le Chevalier Comte Jacques de Chabannes KLJ OMLJ

The Grand Priory of Germany
Grand Prior: Chevalier Peter Neuen KLJ

germany@saintlazarus.org

The Rhein-Ruhr Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Germany
Commander: Confrere Jurgen Wolsfeld

The Rhein-Pfalz Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Germany
Commander: The Chev. Peter Neuen KLJ CMLJ

 

The Rhein-Neckar Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Germany
Commander: Confrere Rainer Kautsch

 

The Grand Priory of Ghana
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Samuel Ankrah KLJ

ghana@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Gozo
Chancellor: Chevalier Carmel Caruana KCLJ CMLJ

gozo@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Greece
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites

greece@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Haiti (in formation)

haiti@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Hungary
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Lajos Vigh KLJ

hungary@saintlazarus.org

The Commandery of Szent Erszebet
Under the Grand Commandery of Hungary
Commander: Confrere Dr. Levente Toth CLJ

The Grand Priory of Indonesia
Grand Prior: His Royal Highness Dom Leopold Nisnoni, Raja Of Kupang GCMLJ

indonesia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Italy
Grand Prior: TBA

italy@saintlazarus.org

The Commandery of Catania
Under the Grand Priory of Italy
Commander: Confrère Filippo Condorelli CLJ
The Commandery of Taormina
Under the Grand Priory of Italy
Commander: The Honorable Carmelo Currenti MP

The Grand Priory of Jamaica
Grand Prior: Dame Janice Karema Simmonds Fisher

jamaica@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Japan
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites

japan@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Kazakhstan
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites

kazakhstan@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Kenya
Grand Prior: To be Appointed

kenya@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Macedonia
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Mihael Lozanowski KLJ

macedonia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Malta
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Daniel Bugeja KCLJ CMLJ

malta@saintlazarus.org
The Cotoner Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Malta
Commander: Dame Katya de Giovanni DLJ CMLJ
The De Rohan Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Malta
Commander: Confrere Alex Buttigieg CLJ OMLJ
The La Valette Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Malta
Commander: The Chevalier Joseph Attard KLJ
The L’Isle-Adam Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Malta
Commander: The Chevalier Johann Debono KLJ
The Pinto Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Malta
Commander: Dame Elke Sghendo DLJ CMLJ
The Projekt Lazarus Malta Commandery
Under the Grand Priory of Malta
Commander: Confrere Anthony Galea CLJ

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Mexico

mexico@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Moldova

moldova@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Montenegro
Grand Prior: Chevalier Dragan Nikolic KLJ

montenegro@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of the Netherlands

netherlands@saintlazarus.org
The Priory of Aruba
Under the Grand Priory of the Netherlands
Prior: To be Consecrated
The Priory of Curacao
Under the Grand Priory of the Netherlands
Prior: The Chevalier Marwen Z Saab KLJ

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Norway

norway@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Pakistan
Grand Prioress: Dame Shabnam Nazli DLJ

pakistan@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Peru

peru@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Poland

poland@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Portugal
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites

portugal@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Romania

romania@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Russia
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Vladimir Kirillovskikh KCLJ

russia@saintlazarus.org

The Commandery of Voronezh
Under the Grand Priory of Russia

Commander: Consoeur Tatiana Karpova OLJ

 

The Grand Priory of Rwanda
Grand Prior: The Royal Heir of His Majesty Kigeli V, King of Rwanda GCMLJ

rwanda@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Saint Kitts and Nevis Island
Grand Prior: Dame Susan McWilliams DLJ

saintkitts@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Scotland
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Timothy Rice KLJ

scotland@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Serbia
Grand Prior: Chev. Dragan Milic KLJ

serbia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Sicily
Grand Prior: Dame Barbara Marino DLJ

sicily@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of Singapore
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites

singapore@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Slovakia
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Robert Bodor KLJ

slovakia@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of South Africa
Grand Prior: H. E. The Chevalier Steven Groeneveld GCLJ

southafrica@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Spain

spain@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Sweden

sweden@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Switzerland

switzerland@saintlazarus.org

The Commandery of Tripolitania
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites
Commander: The Chevalier Stefan Hogan KLJ

The Grand Priory of Uganda
Grand Prior: Confrere Peter Ash CMLJ

uganda@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of Ukraine
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Anton Savvov KLJ OMLJ

ukraine@saintlazarus.org

The Delegation of the United Arab Emirates
Under the Grand Priory of the International Lazarites

uae@saintlazarus.org

The Grand Priory of the United States of America
Chancellor: Chevalier Christopher Chambers of Skighaugh KLJ CMLJ

usa@saintlazarus.org
The Priory of the Indigenous People
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Prior: Confrere Jason Rios CLJ
The Priory of Puerto Rico
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Prior: The Chevalier Benjamin Angueira KLJ
The Commandery of Alabama
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Commander: The Revd. Harold Neally Cannon ChLJ
The Commandery of Arizona
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Commander: TBA
The Commandery of Arkansas
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Commander: Confrere Tom Watson OLJ
The Commandery of California
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Commander: Confrere Paul Cueva OLJ
The Commandery of Colorado
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Commander: Confrere Terrence Sarros MLJ
The Commandery of Florida
Under the Grand Priory of the United States of America
Commander: To be appointed
The Commandery of Iowa
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: To be appointed
The Commandery of Michigan
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Confrere Jason Michael Rios MLJ
The Commandery of Missouri
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Consoeur Joy Watson OLJ
The Commandery of Nevada
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: The Honorable Judge Dr. Benjamin Zvenia KLJ CMLJ
The Commandery of New Jersey
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Consoeur Dea Rocha Viola CLJ
The Commandery of New York
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Confrère Victor Serino OLJ
The Commandery of North Carolina
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: To be appointed
The Commandery of Ohio
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Consoeur Charmaine Bassett CLJ
The Commandery of Pennsylvania
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Dame Liane Queiroz DLJ OMLJ
The Commandery of South Carolina
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Confrère John Robert Wallace CLJ
The Commandery of Texas
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: The Chevalier Elizear Ben Joseph KLJ
The Commandery of Utah
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Pastor Linda Mooney ChLJ
The Commandery of Virginia
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander:Confrere Christopher (Comes with Clouds) White MLJ
The Commandery of Washington
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Confrere John Blakemore MLJ
The Commandery of West Virginia
Under the Grand Priory of the United States
Commander: Confrere Thomas Moore MLJ

The Grand Priory (in Formation) of Uruguay

uruguay@saintlazarus.org


The Delegation of Wales
Under the Grand Priory of International Lazarites

wales@saintlazarus.org

 

International Jurisdictions Within the United Grand Priories:

Grand Priory of the International Lazarites
Grand Prior: The Chevalier Thomas W. Nash KCLJ
The Sacred Medical Order of the Knights of Hope
Grand Master: H.E. The Chevalier Charles McWilliams


Go to top



  2002-2010 The Hospitaller Order of Saint Lazarus of Jerusalem  info@saintlazarus.org